2015 Washington State Winners MTNA Composition Competition

Elementary:

Winner: Noelle Paek, Student of Sharon Van Valin

Honorable mention: Iris Hochwalt, Student of Paul Swenson

Junior:

Winner: Gannon Forsberg, Student of Sharon Van Valin

Honorable mention: Akshay Bablani, Student of Kerry Itami

Honorable mention: Colin McIntosh, Student of Debra DeMiero

Senior:

Winner: Ariel Hsieh, Student of Sharon Van Valin

Honorable mention: Benjamin Cheung, Student of Nino Merabishvili

Honorable mention: Christina Ding, Student of Sharon Van Valin

Young Artist:

Winner: Alex Worland, Student of Martin Kennedy

Honorable mention: Krista Connelly, Student of Martin Kennedy

This year, the Washington judges were:

David Crumb

Bill Whitley

Greg Youtz

Winning and representative compositions automatically advance to the Northwest Division competition. The results of that competition will be announced in the middle of December.

Congratulations to all of the participants in the competition! We hope that the comments you receive from the judges will be helpful to you and your teacher. Your efforts are to be commended and we hope that you will continue to learn and grow as a composer. Good luck with your musical studies!

Martin Kennedy, WSMTA/MTNA Composition Competition Chair (917) 312-0949

mpk324@gmail.com